Welcome to Birdquest

Dani López-Velasco

Dani López-Velasco

Dani López-Velasco is a young but virtually life-long Spanish birder who lives in Salinas in Asturias province in northwestern Spain.

Dani (pronounced Danny) started birding at the unusually early age of five, and soon became very keen, taking field notes on shorebirds, gulls and seabirds as they were the most easily seen birds near his house. When he was 10, he found, below his house, the third record of Desert Wheatear for Spain, and since then he’s been very involved with advanced bird identification and rarities. He has spent thousands of hours doing seawatching and working with seabird counts.

However, his passion, above all, is global birding, with birds of paradise being his favourite birds since he was very little. Dani has been a member of the Spanish Rarities Committee since he was 19 and has found a number of ‘firsts’ for both Spain and other countries. He has had identification papers published in many ornithological journals, including Alula, Birding World, Cotinga, Dutch Birding and Neotropical Birding.

His first birding trip outside Europe was to Costa Rica, when he was 12! Since then, he has travelled extensively in the Western Palearctic, and has birded widely all over the world too. His birding trips have already taken him to more than 50 countries on seven continents.

The oceans are a particular favourite: he has been on pelagics all over the globe and organizes pioneering trips off Spain and the Canary Islands.

Dani lived for a year in Boston, Massachusetts, and speaks impressively fluent English. When he was 19, he was part of the team who won the Oryx prize for young naturalists, which took him on a long research trip to the most remote corners of Morocco. Dani is a qualified medical doctor, something that can prove useful for remote trips. He is currently working on an advanced photographic identification guide in Spanish.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Dani López-Velasco will be leading the following tours:

ULTIMATE COSTA RICA Friday 8th March 2019 - Sunday 31st March 2019
THE CAPE VERDE ISLANDS Sunday 21st April 2019 - Saturday 27th April 2019
WILD SPAIN & MALLORCA Wednesday 1st May 2019 - Wednesday 8th May 2019
Mallorca Extension: 8th May — 11th May
ULTIMATE WEST PAPUA Wednesday 3rd July 2019 - Tuesday 30th July 2019
ULTIMATE ECUADOR Thursday 5th September 2019 - Monday 30th September 2019
Part I: Northern Ecuador: 5th September — 21st September
Part II: Amazonian Ecuador: 21st September — 30th September
ULTIMATE CHILE Saturday 12th October 2019 - Saturday 26th October 2019
Southern Chile Extension: 26th October — 31st October
ULTIMATE ETHIOPIA Sunday 10th November 2019 - Wednesday 27th November 2019
Gondar & White-headed Babbler Extension: 27th November — 30th November
REMOTE PHILIPPINES Monday 3rd February 2020 - Thursday 20th February 2020
Tablas & Panay Extension: 20th February — 27th February
SNOW LEOPARD SPECIAL: LADAKH Sunday 1st March 2020 - Saturday 14th March 2020
Tibetan Plateau Extension: 14th March — 18th March
WESTERN MEXICO Friday 20th March 2020 - Friday 3rd April 2020
Baja California Extension: 16th March — 20th March
MONGOLIA Tuesday 19th May 2020 - Saturday 6th June 2020
NEW CALEDONIA & FIJI Wednesday 9th September 2020 - Tuesday 22nd September 2020
Vanuatu Extension: 6th September — 9th September
Samoa Extension: 22nd September — 25th September
ULTIMATE CHILE Monday 5th October 2020 - Monday 19th October 2020
Southern Chile Extension: 19th October — 24th October
TANZANIA: ULTIMATE EASTERN ARC Saturday 14th November 2020 - Saturday 5th December 2020
Part I: Tanzania's Eastern Arc: 14th November — 27th November
Part II: Remote Udzungwa: 27th November — 5th December