Welcome to Birdquest

Dani López-Velasco

Dani López-Velasco

Daniel López-Velasco is a young but virtually life-long Spanish birder who lives in Salinas in Asturias province in northwestern Spain. Dani (pronounced Danny) started birding at the unusually early age of five, and soon became very keen, taking field notes on shorebirds, gulls and seabirds as they were the most easily seen birds near his house. When he was 10, he found, below his house, the third record of Desert Wheatear for Spain, and since then he’s been very involved with advanced bird identification and rarities. He has spent thousands of hours doing seawatching and working with seabird counts. However, his passion, above all, is global birding, with birds of paradise being his favourite birds since he was very little. Dani has been a member of the Spanish Rarities Committee since he was 19 and has found a number of ‘firsts’ for both Spain and other countries. He has had identification papers published in many ornithological journals, including Alula, Birding World, Cotinga, Dutch Birding and Neotropical Birding. His first birding trip outside Europe was to Costa Rica, when he was 12! Since then, he has travelled extensively in the Western Palearctic, and has birded widely all over the world too. His birding trips have already taken him to more than 50 countries on six continents, with long periods spent in the Neotropics, subsaharan Africa, New Guinea and parts of Asia. The oceans are a particular favourite: he has been on pelagics all over the globe and organizes pioneering trips off Spain and the Canary Islands. Dani lived for a year in Boston, Massachusetts, and speaks impressively fluent English. When he was 19, he was part of the team who won the Oryx prize for young naturalists, which took him on a long research trip to the most remote corners of Morocco. Dani is a qualified medical doctor, something that can prove useful for remote trips. He is currently working on an advanced photographic identification guide in Spanish.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Dani López-Velasco will be leading the following tours:

ANTARCTICA, THE FALKLANDS & SOUTH GEORGIA Thursday 9th November 2017 - Wednesday 29th November 2017
THERE ARE ADDITIONAL DEPARTURES TO ANTARCTICA, THE FALKLANDS & SOUTH GEORGIA OR TO ANTARCTICA ONLY BETWEEN NOVEMBER AND FEBRUARY. PLEASE CONTACT US FOR INFORMATION.
COLOMBIA: FROM THE CHOCO TO AMAZONIA Monday 22nd January 2018 - Monday 12th February 2018
Colombian Amazonia: Mitú Extension: 12th February — 18th February
WESTERN MEXICO Friday 9th March 2018 - Friday 23rd March 2018
Baja California Extension: 5th March — 9th March
GEORGIA: THE CAUCASUS Tuesday 1st May 2018 - Sunday 6th May 2018
Southeastern Georgia Extension: 6th May — 9th May
ULTIMATE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Wednesday 30th May 2018 - Saturday 16th June 2018
New Britain Extension: 16th June — 20th June
ULTIMATE UGANDA Friday 20th July 2018 - Wednesday 8th August 2018
Rwanda Extension: 15th July — 20th July
TANZANIA: ULTIMATE EASTERN ARC Wednesday 3rd October 2018 - Tuesday 16th October 2018
Remote Udzungwa Extension: 16th October — 24th October
TANZANIA'S EASTERN ARC Wednesday 3rd October 2018 - Tuesday 16th October 2018
TANZANIA'S REMOTE UDZUNGWA Tuesday 16th October 2018 - Wednesday 24th October 2018
BEST OF ECUADOR Saturday 17th November 2018 - Thursday 29th November 2018
COLOMBIA: FROM THE CHOCO TO AMAZONIA Monday 21st January 2019 - Monday 11th February 2019
Colombian Amazonia: Mitú Extension: 11th February — 17th February
ULTIMATE COSTA RICA Friday 8th March 2019 - Sunday 31st March 2019
THE CAPE VERDE ISLANDS Friday 19th April 2019 - Thursday 25th April 2019
WILD SPAIN Saturday 27th April 2019 - Saturday 4th May 2019
Mallorca Extension: 4th May — 7th May
ULTIMATE WEST PAPUA Wednesday 3rd July 2019 - Wednesday 31st July 2019
NORTHERN ECUADOR Sunday 8th September 2019 - Tuesday 24th September 2019
ULTIMATE ECUADOR Sunday 8th September 2019 - Tuesday 24th September 2019
Amazonian Ecuador Extension: 24th September — 3rd October
AMAZONIAN ECUADOR Tuesday 24th September 2019 - Thursday 3rd October 2019