Welcome to Birdquest

Hannu Jännes

Hannu Jännes

Hannu Jännes lives near Helsinki, Finland with his partner Jutta and sons Paavo and Aleksi. He originally set up the Earlybird bird tour company together with Dick Forsman and still works as a freelance ornithologist and sound recordist. Hannu is completely fluent in English. Before starting to lead bird tours in the mid-1980s, he spent four breeding seasons travelling all over the country collecting data on the abundance and distribution of Finnish birds for the University of Helsinki. He has a passion for bird identification, especially warblers, and he has been a member of the Finnish Rarities Committee since 1988. Hannu has already published two CDs of his sound recordings, on the birds of Goa and southern India, and on the flight calls of Palearctic migrants, and is now working on mammoth projects for the Indian subcontinent and China. His expertise in his native Scandinavia and adjacent Estonia is second to none, and he has also travelled very extensively in the Indian subcontinent, China, Oman, Bahrain, New Zealand, Tanzania and southern Africa.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Hannu Jännes will be leading the following tours:

WESTERN INDIA Friday 2nd February 2018 - Sunday 18th February 2018
BIRDS & TIGERS OF NORTHERN INDIA Friday 2nd March 2018 - Tuesday 20th March 2018
TAIWAN Friday 20th April 2018 - Wednesday 2nd May 2018
FINLAND & ARCTIC NORWAY Saturday 19th May 2018 - Friday 1st June 2018
ULTIMATE TIBET & XINJIANG Sunday 10th June 2018 - Thursday 21st June 2018
Lhasa Extension: 8th June — 10th June
Chang Tang, Kunlun & Xinjiang Extension: 21st June — 30th June
TIBET Sunday 10th June 2018 - Thursday 21st June 2018
Lhasa Extension: 8th June — 10th June
CHANG TANG, KUNLUN & XINJIANG Wednesday 20th June 2018 - Saturday 30th June 2018
OMAN Tuesday 23rd October 2018 - Thursday 1st November 2018
Northern Oman Extension: 20th October — 23rd October
Bahrain Extension: 1st November — 3rd November
CHINA'S WETLANDS Monday 12th November 2018 - Sunday 25th November 2018
Guizhou Extension: 25th November — 29th November
WESTERN INDIA Saturday 2nd February 2019 - Monday 18th February 2019
JAPAN IN WINTER Monday 18th February 2019 - Monday 4th March 2019
Pelagic Extension: 4th March — 6th March
BIRDS & TIGERS OF NORTHERN INDIA Saturday 9th March 2019 - Wednesday 27th March 2019
ULTIMATE NORTHEAST INDIA Saturday 30th March 2019 - Saturday 20th April 2019
Meghalaya Extension: 28th March — 30th March
Namdapha National Park Extension: 20th April — 25th April
EASTERN CHINA Friday 3rd May 2019 - Wednesday 15th May 2019
Northeastern China Extension: 15th May — 27th May
SOUTHEAST CHINA Friday 3rd May 2019 - Wednesday 15th May 2019
NORTHEAST CHINA Wednesday 15th May 2019 - Monday 27th May 2019