Welcome to Birdquest

János Oláh

János Oláh

János Oláh lives in Debrecen, Hungary with his partner Gabriella and daughter Enikö. A keen birder from the age of 10, János (pronounced ‘Yanosh’) speaks fluent English (his grasp of idiom is remarkable), has a degree in Ecology from the University of Debrecen and is now doing post-graduate research on the ecology of aquatic birds (especially shorebirds, on which he has published a number of scientific papers). He has (with Zoltán Ecsedi) produced a handbook to the birds of the Hortobágy and has carried out a survey of the avifauna of the entire Carpathian range. A member of the Hungarian rarities committee and the operator of the Hungarian Birdline, János is a highly accomplished bird tour leader who guides groups both in his native Hungary (and adjacent Slovakia and Romania), where his knowledge is unsurpassed, and across the globe. János has now travelled very extensively in search of birds on all seven continents, building up a remarkable expertise in a series of countries and regions, including much of South America, Costa Rica, Mexico, China, Japan, India, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia (including Borneo), Indonesia, Ethiopia, Kenya, South Africa, Namibia, Australia and many of the Pacific islands.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

János Oláh will be leading the following tours:

COLOMBIA Saturday 17th February 2018 - Sunday 11th March 2018
COLOMBIA: BLUE-BEARDED HELMETCREST EXPEDITION Sunday 11th March 2018 - Friday 16th March 2018
MONGOLIA Saturday 19th May 2018 - Wednesday 6th June 2018
SUMATRA & JAVA Sunday 8th July 2018 - Sunday 22nd July 2018
Java Extension: 22nd July — 31st July
SUMATRA Sunday 8th July 2018 - Sunday 22nd July 2018
JAVA Sunday 22nd July 2018 - Tuesday 31st July 2018
THE COMOROS Thursday 20th September 2018 - Saturday 29th September 2018
THE COMOROS & NORTHERN MADAGASCAR Thursday 20th September 2018 - Saturday 29th September 2018
Northern Madagascar Extension: 30th September — 8th October
NORTHERN MADAGASCAR Sunday 30th September 2018 - Monday 8th October 2018
HUNGARY: RED-BREASTED GOOSE SPECIAL Wednesday 7th November 2018 - Sunday 11th November 2018
MICRONESIA Wednesday 27th March 2019 - Sunday 14th April 2019
HAWAII Monday 15th April 2019 - Friday 26th April 2019
HUNGARY & TRANSYLVANIA Sunday 5th May 2019 - Tuesday 14th May 2019
PERU'S AMAZONIAN WILDERNESS Tuesday 13th August 2019 - Tuesday 27th August 2019