Welcome to Birdquest

János Oláh

János Oláh

János Oláh lives in Debrecen, Hungary with his partner Gabriella and daughter Enikö. A keen birder from the age of 10, János (pronounced ‘Yanosh’) speaks fluent English (his grasp of idiom is remarkable), has a degree in Ecology from the University of Debrecen and is now doing post-graduate research on the ecology of aquatic birds (especially shorebirds, on which he has published a number of scientific papers). He has (with Zoltán Ecsedi) produced a handbook to the birds of the Hortobágy and has carried out a survey of the avifauna of the entire Carpathian range. A member of the Hungarian rarities committee and the operator of the Hungarian Birdline, János is a highly accomplished bird tour leader who guides groups both in his native Hungary (and adjacent Slovakia and Romania), where his knowledge is unsurpassed, and across the globe. János has now travelled very extensively in search of birds on all seven continents, building up a remarkable expertise in a series of countries and regions, including much of South America, Costa Rica, Mexico, China, Japan, India, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia (including Borneo), Indonesia, Ethiopia, Kenya, South Africa, Namibia, Australia, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji and Samoa.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

János Oláh will be leading the following tours:

PERU'S TAMBOPATA WILDERNESS Sunday 13th August 2017 - Wednesday 23rd August 2017
Peruvian Frontier Specialities Extension: 23rd August — 27th August
BOLIVIA Tuesday 19th September 2017 - Sunday 8th October 2017
Masked Antpitta Extension: 17th September — 19th September
BOLIVIA: PALKACHUPA COTINGA EXPEDITION Sunday 8th October 2017 - Sunday 15th October 2017
ULTIMATE GHANA Sunday 19th November 2017 - Saturday 9th December 2017
COLOMBIA Saturday 17th February 2018 - Sunday 11th March 2018
MONGOLIA Thursday 17th May 2018 - Friday 1st June 2018
Khentiy Mountains Extension: 1st June — 5th June
SUMATRA & JAVA Sunday 8th July 2018 - Sunday 22nd July 2018
Java Extension: 22nd July — 31st July
THE COMOROS & NORTHERN MADAGASCAR Sunday 16th September 2018 - Tuesday 25th September 2018
Northern Madagascar Extension: 25th September — 7th October
HUNGARY & TRANSYLVANIA Sunday 5th May 2019 - Tuesday 14th May 2019