Welcome to Birdquest

János Oláh

János Oláh

János Oláh lives in Debrecen, Hungary with his partner Gabriella and daughter Enikö. A keen birder from the age of 10, János (pronounced ‘Yanosh’) speaks fluent English (his grasp of idiom is remarkable), has a degree in Ecology from the University of Debrecen and is now doing post-graduate research on the ecology of aquatic birds (especially shorebirds, on which he has published a number of scientific papers).

He has (with Zoltán Ecsedi) produced a handbook to the birds of the Hortobágy and has carried out a survey of the avifauna of the entire Carpathian range. He is a member of the Hungarian rarities committee and the operator of the Hungarian Birdline.

János is a highly accomplished bird tour leader who guides groups both in his native Hungary (and adjacent Slovakia and Romania), where his knowledge is unsurpassed, and across the globe.

János has now travelled very extensively in search of birds on all seven continents, building up a remarkable expertise in a series of countries and regions, including much of South America, Costa Rica, Mexico, Mongolia, China, Japan, India, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia (including Borneo), Indonesia, Ethiopia, Kenya, South Africa, Namibia, Australia and many of the Pacific islands.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

János Oláh will be leading the following tours:

THE COMOROS & NORTHERN MADAGASCAR Thursday 20th September 2018 - Saturday 29th September 2018
Northern Madagascar Extension: 30th September — 8th October
THE COMOROS Thursday 20th September 2018 - Saturday 29th September 2018
NORTHERN MADAGASCAR Sunday 30th September 2018 - Monday 8th October 2018
HUNGARY: A LONG WEEKEND ON THE HORTOBÁGY Friday 9th November 2018 - Monday 12th November 2018
MICRONESIA Thursday 28th March 2019 - Monday 15th April 2019
HAWAII Tuesday 16th April 2019 - Saturday 27th April 2019
HUNGARY & TRANSYLVANIA Sunday 5th May 2019 - Tuesday 14th May 2019
HUNGARY: A LONG WEEKEND ON THE HORTOBÁGY Friday 8th November 2019 - Monday 11th November 2019
VIETNAM Sunday 1st March 2020 - Sunday 22nd March 2020
Fansipan Extension: 22nd March — 25th March
EASTERN CHINA Saturday 2nd May 2020 - Tuesday 26th May 2020
Part I: Southeast China: 2nd May — 14th May
Part II: Northeast China: 14th May — 26th May
THE SEYCHELLES, MAURITIUS & RÉUNION Tuesday 8th September 2020 - Saturday 19th September 2020
THE COMOROS & NORTHERN MADAGASCAR Sunday 20th September 2020 - Tuesday 29th September 2020
Northern Madagascar Extension: 30th September — 8th October
NEW CALEDONIA & FIJI Wednesday 21st October 2020 - Tuesday 3rd November 2020
Vanuatu Extension: 18th October — 21st October
Samoa Extension: 3rd November — 6th November