Welcome to Birdquest

Mark Van Beirs

Mark Van Beirs

Mark Van Beirs lives with his partner Kathleen and daughter Caroline near Ghent, Belgium and has guided a truly remarkable number of tours for Birdquest.

Born and raised in Ghent, he was soon travelling abroad in search of birds, firstly all over Europe but soon throughout the world. His varied career has included a spell in a travel agency and fifteen months working as a naturalist guide in the Galapagos and in the Amazonian rainforest of Ecuador.

Mark’s impressive fluency in six languages and invariably cheerful manner allow him to travel with ease anywhere on earth and he has now visited well over 100 countries!

He has a wide-ranging knowledge of birds, but he is particularly interested in the Neotropics, where he has travelled very extensively indeed and spent many years in the field. Africa, Indonesia, New Guinea, the Southwest Pacific and Mongolia are other favourite areas, although in reality he now feels at home almost anywhere.

Mark has now observed around 9000 species of birds, but he also gets very excited about mammals and at night likes to indulge in stargazing.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Mark Van Beirs will be leading the following tours:

SIERRA LEONE Tuesday 15th January 2019 - Tuesday 29th January 2019
SOUTHERN MEXICO Sunday 3rd March 2019 - Tuesday 19th March 2019
El Triunfo (Horned Guan) Extension: 26th February — 3rd March
HISPANIOLA (DOMINICAN REPUBLIC) & PUERTO RICO with JAMAICA & THE BAHAMAS Tuesday 2nd April 2019 - Monday 15th April 2019
Jamaica Extension: 26th March — 1st April
Bahamas Extension: 16th April — 20th April
CENTRAL ASIA SPECIALITIES Sunday 12th May 2019 - Wednesday 22nd May 2019
Kazakhstan Desert Extension: 22nd May — 25th May
Zarudnyi's Sparrow Extension: 10th May — 12th May
THE LESSER ANTILLES Sunday 9th June 2019 - Monday 24th June 2019
Trinidad Extension: 24th June — 29th June
NORTHERN PERU Thursday 1st August 2019 - Tuesday 20th August 2019
SÃO TOMÉ & PRÍNCIPE Saturday 31st August 2019 - Sunday 8th September 2019
GABON Monday 9th September 2019 - Saturday 28th September 2019
WEST PAPUA EXPEDITION Monday 28th October 2019 - Sunday 10th November 2019
Snow Mountain Robin Extension: 23rd October — 28th October
MALAWI Sunday 17th November 2019 - Saturday 30th November 2019
SIERRA LEONE Tuesday 14th January 2020 - Tuesday 28th January 2020
HONDURAS Wednesday 12th February 2020 - Friday 28th February 2020
FORESTS OF CAMEROON Saturday 7th March 2020 - Saturday 21st March 2020
Korup National Park Extension: 21st March — 25th March
THE YUCATAN PENINSULA, MEXICO Saturday 4th April 2020 - Wednesday 15th April 2020
SÃO TOMÉ & PRÍNCIPE Saturday 29th August 2020 - Sunday 6th September 2020
GABON Monday 7th September 2020 - Saturday 26th September 2020
PITCAIRN, HENDERSON & THE TUAMOTUS Tuesday 6th October 2020 - Tuesday 20th October 2020
FRENCH POLYNESIA & THE COOK ISLANDS Tuesday 20th October 2020 - Thursday 5th November 2020
Cook Islands Extension: 5th November — 11th November