Welcome to Birdquest

Mark Van Beirs

Mark Van Beirs

Mark Van Beirs lives with his partner Kathleen and daughter Caroline near Ghent, Belgium and has guided a truly remarkable number of tours for Birdquest . Born and raised in Ghent, he was soon travelling abroad in search of birds, firstly all over Europe but soon throughout the world. His varied career has included a spell in a travel agency and fifteen months working as a naturalist guide in the Galapagos and in the Amazonian rainforest of Ecuador. Mark’s impressive fluency in six languages and invariably cheerful manner allow him to travel with ease anywhere on earth and he has now visited well over 100 countries! He has a wide-ranging knowledge of birds, but he is particularly interested in the Neotropics, where he has travelled very extensively indeed and spent many years in the field. Africa, Indonesia, New Guinea, the Southwest Pacific and Mongolia are other favourite areas, although in reality he now feels at home almost anywhere. Mark has now observed around 8900 species of birds, but he also gets very excited about mammals and at night likes to indulge in stargazing.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Mark Van Beirs will be leading the following tours:

THE SOLOMON ISLANDS Thursday 6th July 2017 - Tuesday 1st August 2017
BEST OF WEST PAPUA Saturday 5th August 2017 - Saturday 19th August 2017
FORESTS OF THE CONGO PEAFOWL Wednesday 6th September 2017 - Monday 25th September 2017
FORESTS OF THE CONGO PEAFOWL Wednesday 6th September 2017 - Monday 25th September 2017
THE SEYCHELLES, MAURITIUS & RÉUNION Thursday 28th September 2017 - Monday 9th October 2017
SÃO TOMÉ & PRÍNCIPE Saturday 13th January 2018 - Saturday 20th January 2018
THE YUCATAN PENINSULA, MEXICO Wednesday 21st February 2018 - Sunday 4th March 2018
WESTERN MEXICO Friday 9th March 2018 - Friday 23rd March 2018
Baja California Extension: 5th March — 9th March
NORTHERN TANZANIA Sunday 1st April 2018 - Saturday 14th April 2018
BULGARIA Sunday 13th May 2018 - Sunday 20th May 2018
REMOTE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Saturday 7th July 2018 - Wednesday 1st August 2018
THE SEYCHELLES, MAURITIUS & RÉUNION Saturday 8th September 2018 - Wednesday 19th September 2018
NEW CALEDONIA & FIJI Monday 22nd October 2018 - Sunday 4th November 2018
Vanuatu Extension: 19th October — 22nd October
Samoa Extension: 4th November — 7th November
SOUTHERN MEXICO Sunday 3rd March 2019 - Tuesday 19th March 2019
El Triunfo (Horned Guan) Extension: 26th February — 3rd March
HISPANIOLA (DOMINICAN REPUBLIC) & PUERTO RICO with JAMAICA & THE BAHAMAS Tuesday 2nd April 2019 - Monday 15th April 2019
Jamaica Extension: 26th March — 1st April
Bahamas Extension: 16th April — 20th April
CORSICA Monday 6th May 2019 - Friday 10th May 2019
French Alps (Rock Partridge) Extension: 10th May — 13th May
ICELAND Monday 10th June 2019 - Tuesday 18th June 2019