Welcome to Birdquest

Mark Van Beirs

Mark Van Beirs

Mark Van Beirs lives with his partner Kathleen and daughter Caroline near Ghent, Belgium and has guided a truly remarkable number of tours for Birdquest . Born and raised in Ghent, he was soon travelling abroad in search of birds, firstly all over Europe but soon throughout the world. His varied career has included a spell in a travel agency and fifteen months working as a naturalist guide in the Galapagos and in the Amazonian rainforest of Ecuador. Mark’s impressive fluency in six languages and invariably cheerful manner allow him to travel with ease anywhere on earth and he has now visited well over 100 countries! He has a wide-ranging knowledge of birds, but he is particularly interested in the Neotropics, where he has travelled very extensively indeed and spent many years in the field. Africa, Indonesia, New Guinea, the Southwest Pacific and Mongolia are other favourite areas, although in reality he now feels at home almost anywhere. Mark has now observed around 8900 species of birds, but he also gets very excited about mammals and at night likes to indulge in stargazing.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Mark Van Beirs will be leading the following tours:

WESTERN MEXICO Friday 9th March 2018 - Friday 23rd March 2018
Baja California Extension: 5th March — 9th March
NORTHERN TANZANIA Sunday 1st April 2018 - Saturday 14th April 2018
REMOTE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Saturday 7th July 2018 - Wednesday 1st August 2018
THE SEYCHELLES, MAURITIUS & RÉUNION Saturday 8th September 2018 - Wednesday 19th September 2018
NEW CALEDONIA & FIJI Wednesday 24th October 2018 - Tuesday 6th November 2018
Vanuatu Extension: 21st October — 24th October
Samoa Extension: 6th November — 9th November
SOUTHERN MEXICO Sunday 3rd March 2019 - Tuesday 19th March 2019
El Triunfo (Horned Guan) Extension: 26th February — 3rd March
HISPANIOLA (DOMINICAN REPUBLIC) & PUERTO RICO with JAMAICA & THE BAHAMAS Tuesday 2nd April 2019 - Monday 15th April 2019
Jamaica Extension: 26th March — 1st April
Bahamas Extension: 16th April — 20th April
KAZAKHSTAN & UZBEKISTAN Thursday 16th May 2019 - Monday 27th May 2019
Uzbekistan Extension: 12th May — 16th May
THE LESSER ANTILLES Sunday 9th June 2019 - Monday 24th June 2019
Trinidad Extension: 24th June — 29th June
NORTHERN PERU Thursday 1st August 2019 - Tuesday 20th August 2019
SÃO TOMÉ & PRÍNCIPE Thursday 29th August 2019 - Saturday 7th September 2019
MALAWI Monday 23rd September 2019 - Sunday 6th October 2019
PITCAIRN, HENDERSON & THE TUAMOTUS Tuesday 6th October 2020 - Tuesday 20th October 2020
FRENCH POLYNESIA & THE COOK ISLANDS Tuesday 20th October 2020 - Thursday 5th November 2020
Cook Islands Extension: 5th November — 11th November