Welcome to Birdquest

Josh Bergmark

Josh Bergmark

Josh Bergmark lives in Sydney, Australia with his partner Shahaf. Josh may be our youngest team member, but given that he has been guiding birders since he was 16, this doesn’t mean he is any less qualified than many others guides. Josh has an in-depth and comprehensive understanding of Australia’s  birdlife, having covered virtually every bit of the continent. He has also travelled extensively in the Pacific Islands, Asia and southern Africa.

During his studies for his bachelor's degree in Earth Science and Geospatial Information Systems at the University of New South Wales, probably too much of his time was spent either processing satellite data to predict Night Parrot distributions, or going on extensive trips to remote areas of Australia and Asia, but nonetheless he graduated successfully.

Josh has always had a passion for sharing birds with others, and after meeting many professional guides during his travels, he started working towards a career in tour leading at the very early age of 16, when he began volunteering as an assistant guide with Follow That Bird in Sydney, until landing a job with Birdquest following an intensive 'trial by binoculars' in Outback Queensland. During his degree course, Josh worked part-time selling binoculars and scopes, and as such conveniently knows all the standard repairs when out in the field.

More recently, Josh has been focusing on overseas travel and has now extensively birded China, Taiwan, India, Sri Lanka, Burma (Myanmar), Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Borneo, New Zealand, West Papua (Indonesia), Papua New Guinea, Fiji, the Solomon Islands, South Africa, Namibia and Zambia.

Alongside moderating Birdline in Australia since leaving high school, Josh has received an Enderby Scholarship, travelling to the Subantarctic Islands with Heritage Expeditions before even starting university, and voluntarily coordinates the national 'Twitchathon' (one of BirdLife Australia's biggest fundraising events).

With a keen interest in mammals and reptiles, one of Josh's favourite activities is spotlighting, where nocturnal birds can sometimes be overshadowed by spectacular fauna of the non-flying variety, which he has a knack for spotting.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Josh Bergmark will be leading the following tours:

EASTERN AUSTRALIA Sunday 28th October 2018 - Sunday 18th November 2018
BORNEO: SABAH & SARAWAK Wednesday 20th March 2019 - Thursday 11th April 2019
Part I: Sabah: 28th March — 11th April
Part II: Sarawak: 20th March — 27th March
TAIWAN Thursday 18th April 2019 - Tuesday 30th April 2019
WEST PAPUA: FROM BIAK TO THE SNOW MOUNTAINS Saturday 1st June 2019 - Sunday 16th June 2019
ULTIMATE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Sunday 14th July 2019 - Wednesday 31st July 2019
New Britain Extension: 31st July — 4th August
THE SOLOMON ISLANDS Thursday 8th August 2019 - Tuesday 3rd September 2019
BEST OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA Monday 16th September 2019 - Saturday 28th September 2019
SOUTHERN AUSTRALIA Saturday 12th October 2019 - Friday 1st November 2019
Tasmania Extension: 1st November — 5th November
NEW ZEALAND Tuesday 12th November 2019 - Saturday 30th November 2019
BORNEO: SABAH & SARAWAK Thursday 26th March 2020 - Thursday 16th April 2020
Part I: Sabah: 26th March — 9th April
Part II: Sarawak: 9th April — 16th April
TAIWAN Saturday 18th April 2020 - Thursday 30th April 2020
ULTIMATE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Saturday 9th May 2020 - Tuesday 26th May 2020
New Britain Extension: 26th May — 30th May
REMOTE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Saturday 30th May 2020 - Wednesday 24th June 2020
ULTIMATE WEST PAPUA Friday 3rd July 2020 - Thursday 30th July 2020
BEST OF WEST PAPUA Sunday 16th August 2020 - Sunday 30th August 2020
UNCHARTED PAPUA NEW GUINEA EXPEDITION Thursday 3rd September 2020 - Wednesday 23rd September 2020
New Britain Highlands Extension: 23rd September — 30th September
BEST OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA Sunday 6th September 2020 - Friday 18th September 2020
OUTBACK QUEENSLAND Friday 9th October 2020 - Tuesday 27th October 2020
EASTERN AUSTRALIA Sunday 1st November 2020 - Sunday 22nd November 2020
Lord Howe Island Extension: 28th October — 1st November