Welcome to Birdquest

Josh Bergmark

Josh Bergmark

Josh Bergmark lives in Sydney, Australia with his partner Shahaf. Josh may be our youngest team member, but given that he has been guiding birders since he was 16, this doesn’t mean he is any less qualified than many others guides. Josh has an in-depth and comprehensive understanding of Australia’s  birdlife, having covered virtually every bit of the continent. He has also travelled extensively in the Pacific Islands, Asia and southern Africa.

During his studies for his bachelor's degree in Earth Science and Geospatial Information Systems at the University of New South Wales, probably too much of his time was spent either processing satellite data to predict Night Parrot distributions, or going on extensive trips to remote areas of Australia and Asia, but nonetheless he graduated successfully.

Josh has always had a passion for sharing birds with others, and after meeting many professional guides during his travels, he started working towards a career in tour leading at the very early age of 16, when he began volunteering as an assistant guide with Follow That Bird in Sydney, until landing a job with Birdquest following an intensive 'trial by binoculars' in Outback Queensland. During his degree course, Josh worked part-time selling binoculars and scopes, and as such conveniently knows all the standard repairs when out in the field.

More recently, Josh has been focusing on overseas travel and has now extensively birded China, Taiwan, India, Sri Lanka, Burma (Myanmar), Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Borneo, New Zealand, West Papua (Indonesia), Papua New Guinea, Fiji, the Solomon Islands, South Africa, Namibia and Zambia.

Alongside moderating Birdline in Australia since leaving high school, Josh has received an Enderby Scholarship, travelling to the Subantarctic Islands with Heritage Expeditions before even starting university, and voluntarily coordinates the national 'Twitchathon' (one of BirdLife Australia's biggest fundraising events).

With a keen interest in mammals and reptiles, one of Josh's favourite activities is spotlighting, where nocturnal birds can sometimes be overshadowed by spectacular fauna of the non-flying variety, which he has a knack for spotting.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Josh Bergmark will be leading the following tours:

BORNEO: SARAWAK & KALIMANTAN Thursday 14th March 2019 - Wednesday 27th March 2019
BORNEO: SABAH Thursday 28th March 2019 - Thursday 11th April 2019
TAIWAN Thursday 18th April 2019 - Tuesday 30th April 2019
WEST PAPUA: FROM BIAK TO THE SNOW MOUNTAINS Saturday 1st June 2019 - Sunday 16th June 2019
ULTIMATE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Sunday 14th July 2019 - Wednesday 31st July 2019
New Britain Extension: 31st July — 4th August
THE SOLOMON ISLANDS Thursday 8th August 2019 - Tuesday 3rd September 2019
BEST OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA Sunday 15th September 2019 - Friday 27th September 2019
SOUTHERN AUSTRALIA Saturday 12th October 2019 - Friday 1st November 2019
Tasmania Extension: 1st November — 5th November
NEW ZEALAND Tuesday 12th November 2019 - Saturday 30th November 2019
BORNEO: SABAH Sunday 8th March 2020 - Sunday 22nd March 2020
BORNEO: SARAWAK & KALIMANTAN Sunday 22nd March 2020 - Saturday 4th April 2020
TAIWAN Saturday 18th April 2020 - Thursday 30th April 2020
ULTIMATE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Saturday 9th May 2020 - Tuesday 26th May 2020
New Britain Extension: 26th May — 30th May
REMOTE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Saturday 6th June 2020 - Wednesday 1st July 2020
ULTIMATE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Sunday 19th July 2020 - Wednesday 5th August 2020
New Britain Extension: 5th August — 9th August
UNCHARTED PAPUA NEW GUINEA EXPEDITION Thursday 3rd September 2020 - Wednesday 23rd September 2020
New Britain Highlands Extension: 23rd September — 30th September
EASTERN AUSTRALIA Sunday 1st November 2020 - Sunday 22nd November 2020
Lord Howe Island Extension: 28th October — 1st November
NORTHERN AUSTRALIA Thursday 23rd September 2021 - Friday 8th October 2021
OUTBACK QUEENSLAND Saturday 9th October 2021 - Wednesday 27th October 2021