Welcome to Birdquest

Josh Bergmark

Josh Bergmark

Josh Bergmark lives in Sydney, Australia with his partner Shahaf. Josh may be our youngest team member, but given that he has been guiding birders since he was 16, this doesn’t mean he is any less qualified than many others guides. Josh has an in-depth and comprehensive understanding of Australia’s  birdlife, having covered virtually every bit of the continent. He has also travelled extensively throughout Asia and the Pacific Islands. Following the commencement of his bachelor's degree in Earth Science and Geospatial Information Systems at the University of New South Wales, probably too much of his available free time has been spent either processing satellite data to predict Night Parrot distributions, or going on extensive trips to remote areas of Australia and Asia. Josh has always had a passion for sharing birds with others, and after meeting many professional guides during his travels, he started working towards a career in tour leading at the very early age of 16, when he began volunteering as an assistant guide with Follow That Bird in Sydney, until landing a job with Birdquest following an intensive 'trial by binoculars' in Outback Queensland. During his degree course, Josh worked part-time selling binoculars and scopes, and as such conveniently knows all the standard repairs when out in the field. As a recent graduate, he has been able to focus on overseas travel, having now thoroughly birded countries such as India, Sri Lanka, Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand, Fiji, and the Solomons. Alongside moderating Birdline in Australia since leaving high school, Josh has received an Enderby Scholarship, travelling to the Sub-Antarctic with Heritage Expeditions before even starting university, and voluntarily coordinates the national 'Twitchathon' (one of BirdLife Australia's biggest fundraising events). With a keen interest in mammals and reptiles, one of Josh's favourite activities is spotlighting, where nocturnal birds can sometimes be overshadowed by spectacular fauna of the non-flying variety, which he has a knack for spotting.

 

Click here to go back to Our Team

Josh Bergmark will be leading the following tours:

THE SOLOMON ISLANDS Thursday 6th July 2017 - Tuesday 1st August 2017
BEST OF WEST PAPUA Saturday 5th August 2017 - Saturday 19th August 2017
SOUTHERN AUSTRALIA Sunday 15th October 2017 - Saturday 4th November 2017
Tasmania Extension: 4th November — 7th November
ULTIMATE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Wednesday 30th May 2018 - Saturday 16th June 2018
New Britain Extension: 16th June — 20th June
REMOTE PAPUA NEW GUINEA Saturday 7th July 2018 - Wednesday 1st August 2018
BEST OF WEST PAPUA Sunday 12th August 2018 - Sunday 26th August 2018
NORTHERN AUSTRALIA Tuesday 18th September 2018 - Wednesday 3rd October 2018
OUTBACK QUEENSLAND & LORD HOWE ISLAND Friday 5th October 2018 - Tuesday 23rd October 2018
Lord Howe Island Extension: 23rd October — 27th October
NEW ZEALAND Saturday 10th November 2018 - Wednesday 28th November 2018
THE SOLOMON ISLANDS Thursday 8th August 2019 - Tuesday 3rd September 2019
SOUTHERN AUSTRALIA Saturday 12th October 2019 - Friday 1st November 2019
Tasmania Extension: 1st November — 5th November